:Music Review: Sonik Foundry – Explosive

Sonik Foundry – Explosive
Release Date: May 25, 2012
Label: Nilaiha Records

Review by: Jeremy Davey

   Where should I begin? Do I start by telling you that Explosive is probably the best release I’ve heard as of late? How about the fact that I’m ashamed of myself because Sonik Foundry has been around since 2007 and this is the first time I’ve heard them? Maybe I should start by heaping adulation upon Sonik Foundry’s main man, Nikademus, for the sheer amount of variety he’s managed to pound (literally) into this album without ever losing the overall cohesiveness? Fuck it. I’ll just ramble semi-coherently about how stellar this album is.

From the dubstep-like bass drops (which, let’s face it, are the coolest parts of any dubstep song), razor sharp synth lines, and pounding, danceable beats to the darkly toned orchestrations, overall sinister post-apocalyptic atmospherics, and excellent vocal performances, Nikademus has used his Sonik Foundry to combine the ingredients for an obliterating amalgam of electro/EBM aural assault that refuses to show the listener any semblance of mercy. The best part is that he does all of this without resorting to the hyper-distorted vocal shtick that is still way more popular than it should be. He also keeps, at the very least, a modicum of melody, even in the most aggressive songs on this album. Oh yeah, and there are also the catchy choruses that stick in your head like someone shot them at you with a nailgun.

When it comes to individual songs that really stand out, it is almost impossible to choose any. It isn’t because they all sound the same; that statement couldn’t be farther from the truth. It’s because every song on Explosive could easily be a single. Not once did I feel the urge to skip to the next track. I will say, however, that I borderline obsessed over the change-up in vocal style at the 2:50 mark of “Pleasure And Pain.” Yeah, it’s pretty killer, which says a lot when it’s on an album that is majorly kickass already. If this album doesn’t show up on an abundance of “top 10” lists at the end of the year, I may just lose faith in humanity’s musical tastes. Do yourself a HUGE favor and pick up Sonik Foundry’s Explosive. If it disappoints you, then just punch yourself in the face and see if that helps.

Track Listing:

  1. Beat it Down
  2. Intolerance
  3. Slipping Away
  4. Primer
  5. Fuse
  6. Obliterate
  7. Fusion
  8. Detonate
  9. Pleasure And Pain
  10. Desolate
  11. Fallen
  12. Perception Of Hate
  13. Terra
  14. Fuse (Assemblage 23 Remix)
  15. Slipping Away (00tz 00tz Remix)
  16. Severance Pay (SINthetik Messiah Remix)

Download Explosive from Amazon MP3