:CD Review: Celldweller – The Complete Cellout Vol. 1

Celldweller – The Complete Cellout Vol. 1
Label: FiXT
Release Date: January 10, 2012
Website: celldweller.com

Review by: Zander Buel

Straight from his cell in Detroit, Klayton has released an extensive compilation of various remixes of songs he’s written over the years for his project, Celldweller. Any Celldweller fan knows that Klayton is no stranger to genre-bending, stepping out of boundaries and comfortably mashing together anything from electronic, to house, to ambient, to industrial, dubstep, drum and bass, orchestral, and even flat-out rock. The mix is always beaten out to smooth, sleek songwriting with just enough diversity and melodic hooks to captivate the listener. With a unique enough sound to begin with, how has this remix added, or perhaps taken away from, the songs it has recreated?

Remix albums are typically reserved for the more enthusiastic fans of bands, and The Complete Cellout Vol. 01 is no different. What is has, however, are impressive spins on past songs with unique interpretations.

“Goodbye (Klayton’s 2012 Mix)” transforms a hard rock song with electronic and synth undertones to a fast, upbeat dance number with dubstep bass blurbs and frantic drums. A chaotic synth solo leads the track out. This trend is prevalent throughout the album, with “Louder than Words (Bare Remix)” molded to a trippy haze of dubstep and house-like synth jumps. Frenzied keyboards jilts and screeches hiss-like a nightmarish LSD trip. “Frozen (Celldweller vs. Blue Stahli)” is an electronic powerhouse dance anthem that evolved from a brooding industrial rock song. “Shapeshifter feat. Styles of Beyond (Blue Stahli Remix)” is a club rap song gone industrial and rock, with trademark dance beats and synths that dominates much of the album. “The Best It’s Gonna Get (J Scott G & Joman Remix)” is a dreamy trance slide with airy synths and vocals, both soft and aggressive.

The variations, at times, make the songs more unique than they initially were. Few artists out there, or at least known artists, can say they have mashed so many styles successfully together. At the risk of becoming generic, synthesizers were washed over each track to enhance a cohesive electronic vibe, but this atmosphere enhances the songs at times, perhaps surpassing the originals. At the very least, none of the remixes fall short of being impressive and exciting.

What The Complete Cellout Vol. 1 avoids that so many other remix albums fall victim to are throwaway alterations that add nothing new. There are no mind-numbingly boring drone interludes or vocal lines repeated over and over to the point of absurdity while slowly fading out. The songs have been enhanced with pop-like sensibilities aided by dance beats and synths, which both give new angles to the songs while not damaging what made them enjoyable from the get-go. It’s sufficient for the dance floor and enjoyable in the living room.


1. The Complete Cellout
2. Goodbye (Klayton’s 2012 Mix)
3. Eon (Drivepilot Remix)
4. Own Little World (Kayton’s We Will Never Die Mix)
5. Louder than Words (Bare Remix)
6. Frozen (Celldweller vs. Blue Stahli)
7. I Can’t Wait (Josh Money Remix)
8. Birthright (Birthwrong Remix by Blue Stahli)
9. The Best It’s Gonna Get vs. Tainted
10. Shapeshifter (Blue Stahli Remix)
11. The Best It’s Gonna Get (J Scott G & Joman Remix)
12. So Long Sentiment (Toksin’s Anhedonia Mix)

Download The Complete Cellout Vol. 1 from Amazon MP3

Leave a Reply