:CD Review: Inure – The Offering

Inure – The Offering
Release Date: February 28, 2012
Label: Metropolis Records
Website: inure.net

Review By: Mykyl Pagan

Setting out to mix together an old school industrial sound with modern production techniques, the group Inure successfully and skillfully accomplish that task with The Offering.

From the first solemn notes on the first measures of “This Death”, the songwriters dive deep into a somber atmosphere, before the beat kicks in, and the synth lines combine with the layering of delayed vocals, and the driving beat of the drums, to create a sonic soundscape that slides between both ears with the skilled guitar work of Adam Vex, of Imperative Reaction, throwing the groove in a completely different, energetic direction that lasts for the rest of the song.

The second song on this album, “The Call” has riffs and melodies that are expressive yet full of energy, and the vocals are catchy enough to make you want to wait and listen to what they will play next, which usually involves a heavy grinding breakdown, that crescendos, and falls with a scream.

Song number three, “Rapture”, starts with synth lines combined with a glitchy beat that is dark enough to show these guys know what they are doing when it comes to good production techniques. After the drums and guitar bridge the gap between the measures, the vocals kick in to form a brutal, groove heavy verse, while the chorus is a bit unexpected and more aggressive, which I and my earholes found very favorable. Finding octaves of emotion in the guitar notes in the bridge of this song, it ties together all the parts of the song into one well written composition.

“This is The Life”, the fourth composition, begins with the sinister bass line while throwing in a panned drum track, that showcases the production techniques of this project. The beat intensifies while adding in some very rhythmic guitar playing, before the vocals come growling in. The chorus is simple enough, yet catchy, and will tend to get stuck in your head after a few times listening. The rest of the song follows the same formula, but if it works, go for it.

“The Strange”, the fifth track, changes the mood up a bit, with some dark expressive bass synth mixed with a gentle thumping bass drum, and softening the attack of the snare compared to previous songs. Combine all of this with some singing, and some laid back melodic guitar work, and it forms a very well composed score that showcases the groups’ ability to be versatile.

Song number six, “All Alone” sets out to prove that these musicians can effectively combine different styles of past and present into one complex composition. Listening along to the driving guitar mixed together with pounding bass drum and offset synth in the breakdowns gives this song a somewhat epic feel, while still keeping the energy of the album upbeat and moving smoothly along. The lyrics in the chorus have the potential to get stuck in your head, possibly prompting you to press the repeat button to give this one another go around.

Number seven on this album gets under way with a driving bass beat that combines with a simple synth riff to form the intro. After the yelling voices kick in for the verse, it melds smoothly into the more aggressive, chorus, with no bridge or transition, but I feel as if they could have used less delay on the vocals and moved the guitar up more in the mix. Overall the energy and tempo of this song gives it a good upbeat feel and, like all the other mixes on the album, proves that this band may well be around for a while.

“The Mind Killer”, the eighth offering, transitions from a single synth line to a driving danceable track, with some skilled layering of offset synth lines jumping right into the verse with little, if any warning. The harsh, yet soulful singing joins with the guitar work to build an anthem about regret and revenge to form a well-produced sinister composition. The group even manages to throw in some audio samples from old movies. The instrumental outro really makes this track standout from the others, giving it a deeper emotional feeling than the others before.

Number nine, “So Far Away” puts the energy back into the album with a single synth as the intro and jumps right into the verse. The content seems to be about how to start over, regret over a bad ending to another chapter of life, seeming as if there is anything to do to mend a broken relationship, and asking for a second chance at trust, something I’m sure everyone can relate to. Even though this track is a bit on the emotional side, it’s a great change, and gives this album yet another side to add on to the ever deepening story of Inure.

The final song “Cold” evokes images of exactly that, as the intro turns into the verse, but keeps the same blowing hollow atmosphere throughout. Singing a single line, “On the day that you die”, transitions from the verse, to an instrumental breakdown, and swells into a melodic and emotional chorus. Slight pauses in the music transitions between measures, something which skillfully changes the mood of the song to suit the lyrics. The ending to the song, which fades to a piano, keeps the mood of the song, and the album in general, consistent to the very end.

Overall I would give The Offering five out of five stars. Good production, catchy riffs, and well composed songs all give the feeling that Inure know what they are doing when they set out to combine elements of old school industrial music, with modern production techniques.

Track Listing;
01. This Death
02. The Call
03. Rapture
04. This is The Life
05. The Strange
06. All Alone
07. The Offering
08. The Mind Killer
09. So Far Away
10. Cold

Purchase The Offering from Storming the Base.

Download The Offering from Amazon MP3.

Leave a Reply